Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Buying Gun Out of State

7b7

I am a resident of California (only to go to school) and I have a CA driver's license and from what I understand I do not want to get another gun while living in CA. But, I am going to be working in Arizona for the summer. So my question is -- Is it legal to buy a handgun while being in Arizona for the summer but still having my CA drivers license and technically still being a resident of CA? I am from AZ and plan on moving back after I finish school in a year, but since I will be in AZ for the summer I was considering looking into getting another handgun while out there. Any advice?

Thanks

The short answer is that it all hinges upon your state of legal residence. If you are a legal resident of Kali then you can't purchase a handgun in AZ. When you flop the Kali DL on the counter the nice man will put the gun away and send you out the door.

Just save up your nickles and then after you graduate and move back to AZ buy yourself several nice graduation presents.

kimel,

I hate to say this, you are incorrect.

7b7,

There are a couple of different scenarios here that you have available to you.

Scenario # 1:

If you are going to be working in Arizona in excess of 90 days, you are required by Arizona DOT to acquire an Arizona driver's license. In AZ (as I'm sure you know), it's great. $25 and 15 minutes and you have your license, and you're good to go to buy. When you return to California, you are not required to file for another driver's license. However, you are required to DROS any new handguns when you cross back over the state. The form is here.

Scenario # 2: