Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Switching from G30 to G21 killed my accuracy!

I am exasperated.

I started shooting steel matches and a handful of USPSA matches about a year ago. I actually started out shooting a sub-compact 9mm, the Glock 26, and I did great with that. Then I bought a G17 and shot with that for almost all my matches. A few times I used my G30, the sub-compact .45 Auto. I love shooting .45 ACP, but obviously, using a two-finger grip on something like that and trying to reload quickly is a nightmare. Nevertheless, I normally did a lot better with my G30 than what most people thought was possible for the average guy using such a gun.

So a few weeks ago I picked up the full-size G21 because I wanted to shoot major at USPSA matches and be able to reload without pinching myself during quick reloads.

Well, now I suck. My times had been improving slowly, but steadily when shooting the G17. However, I just don't like that gun very much. I improved the trigger a bit, but I still don't like the feel of the G17's trigger pull. And the 9mm recoil seems more harsh than what I get with a .45ACP. Whether it's true or not, I feel like I can get my front sight back on target for a follow up much quicker using either my G30 or G21. The problem is that with my new G21, my accuracy has just gone down the toilet! Seriously. I can't hit worth squat on longer shots, so some of those qualifier stages in the USPSA matches completely ruin my score. I did way better using my G17 and and my G30.