Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

308 AR First time

Baer45

Is there a standard load for AR's? I shoot 175's with my bolt guns; do most people drop down in bullet weight for their ARs? Also, do the Dillon 308 dies crimp the round for an auto loader or do I need and xtra crimp die? This is my first time loading for an AR and I'm still new to reloading rifle rounds. Thanks for any help...

Baer, I have also recently picked up an AR10, and will start loading for it. Dillon does make a crimp for the 308. I believe you can get it individually or as part of a set. I shoot 175s out of my bolt gun, but I will probably drop down to a smaller bullet for the AR, as I will be loading more for mag length than out to reach the lands. It will be interesting and a good thing to learn what others are doing for their ARs. I do know that Scharch sells a pack of 500 processed brass, and 500 147gr fmj for around $200. I haven't done a lot of price comparison on that particular deal, but other Scharch products are very priced very competitevly. Good luck with your shooting.

• 2 months later...

For my DPMS LR308 24 in 1/10 heavy stainless barrel... I find that it likes 168 - 175 a lot better than 150s. With 150s my spread goes to @1.5 MOA at 100 yards. With the 168 AMAX and 168 SMK over 45.3 gr of Varget loaded to mag length, I have consistent sub MOA groups.

• 4 months later...

You just need to find what works best with yur rifle, my OBR loves Hornady 150gr FMJs and Berger 155.5 fullbore rounds, 175 SMK rounds shoot sub-moa barely and honestly they are't coming out fast enough. My 155.5s preform better in the wind than the heavier rounds due to the fact that they can just get to the target faster even at 800m