Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How to improve consistency and keeping focus

grumpy.old.1

A little background to let you know where I am at.

I just started competitive shooting this year in April. I have shot 4 local IDPA matches and 2 local USPSA matches in that time. If I am lucky I get to shoot twice a month. Once at a match and if lucky another time at an indoor range. I have been doing dry fire drills at home atleast 4 times a week.

Two weeks after I shot my first IDPA match I shot the classifier and scored as a SS, about 5 seconds shy of Expert. My skills have been improving steadily and with as little actually shooting I get to do I am pleased at the speed of that improvement so far.

Ive been working on trying to pick up time during target transitions and movement. So far so good but I am still self taught so it takes some trial and error and time.

The thing that has really been getting me is my consistency during a match. Our matches usually have 5 stages. When I am done with a match I will usually end up shooting one stage where everything felt really good. Two stages that are so so but I am able to identify what thing went wrong and what I need to work on to correct them. Then two that were complete flops. I forget my plan of attack, have a major mental breakdown and walk off the stage just shaking me head.

What are some of the things you guys work on to keep focus. I dont think its the buzzer throwing me off. Its usually after the first couple of targets where I start to lose it.

This might sound a bit creasy, but one thing that really helped me was not to think to much.

Don't over analyze the stage. Don't over walk it. Just shoot the dang thing..

Sometimes we get so cut up in our plan, that the smallest doubt, or the smallest mistake can send us for a spin.