Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Questions about Tanfoglio Stock 3

RNA

Hi All,

I'm new to Tanfoglios and have been trying to read as much as possible about the different models. I absolutely love the lines and proportions of Tanfog designs and think that the Stock 3 is the sexiest gun I've ever seen. I've read that IFG will be importing them within the next couple of months, and am anxiously awaiting when they hit the market. But I have a few questions about it:

1. How many rounds do the factory magazines fit in 9mm?

2. Are the Stock magazines interchangeable with the Witness Elite Match series? (As a side question, how many rounds do the Mec-Gar magazines hold for the Witness Elite Match 9mm?)

3. What is the reliability record of the Stock series?

4. I've read of Witness frames and slides cracking -- do the Stock guns have a history of cracking as well?

5. I've also read that the Witness series has a steep feed ramp and I've read of cases where hollow points can be iffy -- is the feed ramp as steep in the Stock series? I plan on relying a Stock 3 for range fun AND for home defense (and possibly CCW in the winter), so reliable feeding of hollow points is an absolute necessity. Would it be beneficial to get the feed ramp coated with Robar NP3, or will adding that very thin layer of coating exacerbate feeding problems?

Thanks in advance, and sorry if the questions seem so newbie or obnoxious. I just can't stop thinking about getting my hands on a Stock 3 and don't want to keep indulging in my dirty thoughts if there are reliability/design issues that might pop up if my life depended on it.

As for the slide/frame cracking. I've only heard of the slide cracking on the guns with the scalloped out slides. People had them replaced with the regular "square" slides. I've only seen one report of a "cracked" frame and it turned out the owner wasn't away that there is a tiny relief cut extending from the mag release hole on all the Elite series guns.