Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

.308 Light Bullet Loads

sleepercaprice1

While talking to some of the shooters at the DPMS Tri-Gun this year, I learned that some are using light (110-135 grain) bullets in their .308's. My understanding is that light, fast loads make less recoil and the comps work better.

With a 1/10 twist, I thought that heavier bullets would work better, but a couple guys claimed MOA or less at the 200 yard range most midwest 3 gun matches are shot at.

I've never experimented with bullets that light. Anybody got any ideas for a load or components to start out with?

I'd start with a low velocity load for say a 155 or 168 and go from there. It'll be safe with the lighter bullets.

Rich

Thanks. I have loading manuals and am familiar with loading procedures. I've been loading rifle rounds for over 30 years. What I hoped for was some specific recommendations as far as what bullets will likely work well. For example 110 V-Max, 125 TNT, 135 MK, etc. Powder recommendations would be welcomed as well. I've loaded 150-180 grain bullets for years in both .308 and .30-06. I'm looking for info on what works well in .308 gas guns with light bullets.

I did a bit of load development with my brother's DPMS LR-308 and the Speer 110 gr. Hot-Cor was by far the most accurate bullet I put through it. I was stunned that such a short, light bullet could be so accurate, and I did not have any reliability issues either. Also, these were very old bullets, at least 25 years old. I don't know if they have changed since then. I no longer have the load data but I could probably find out, if you want.

Dave Sinko