Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Really basic airsoft questions.

kwrangln

Guess I should start out with "I have zero experience with airsoft", just so everyone knows.

Currently there is not a blowback airsoft model of a S&W M&P pistol. Question is, would I really be missing anything with a non blowback version? Do you have to rack the slide on a blowback when you load it? Do they have a slide stop that kicks in when they are empty? Does the blowback lend itself to a more realistic feel when firing?

Uncle Sam aint gonna let me throw a pistol in my checked baggage when I go TAD, but I think an airsoft may get by since I travel stateside, so would like to get one to practice when I'm on the road.

I've read on the board here that one M&P shooter uses a Sigma airsoft since it has the blowback while the M&P version doesn't, I may go that route if the blowback design really does make a difference in training.

Any input you can offer me on this is much appreciated, thanks.

One of my friends has a nonblowback M&P. I shot it and it is very different from blowbacks I've shot. If i was you I'd get a blowback. Personaly I dont think airsoft is good training because the actions and recoil of airsoft guns are different from real guns.

Personaly I dont think airsoft is good training because the actions and recoil of airsoft guns are different from real guns.

The fact that the recoil level with Airsofts is different than with real guns is one of their great training virtues. I can already tell that I'm going to get tired of cutting and pasting this same paragraph I wrote, but OTOH I'm just not up for typing the same thing over and over again.