Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

XL 650: misalignment at priming station

I'm a beginner with the XL650, purchased it a few months ago and reloaded a few thousands rounds, all of'em 38 special.

Lately I'm experiencing serious problems with the priming station: press will just stop, primes won't slide into their box, trying to rotate manually the shellplate back and forth sometimes works some other times will result in deformed primers. This was lately occurring every other time or one third of the times.

I removed the shell plate, cleaned it, greased it on the underside, removed and cleaned also the primer feeding assembly with the primer plate, cleaned what I could, did not disassemble the whole thing completely though.

I visually noticed a misalignemnt between the priming punch and the center of the case seat at the shellplate. I tried to correct it acting on the two allen keys keeping the primer tube on the press.

This worked only in part. I think the shellplate rotates just a fraction of degree beyond the exact centerline of punch. I can partially solve the problem by using my finger as a brake at the shellplate at the end of the cycle, doesn't work all the time unfortunately.

I have often to remove the case from station 2, realign manually the shellplate (one fraction of a degree counterclockwise) and proceed. It's just a tiny fraction of degree, almost imperceptible but it does seem to be the cause of malfunction.

Now I searched thru similar posts, I realize I have to adjust the settings somehow but I didn't grasp exactly how, the details of the ops.

Could you please indicate me some available material, or clearly elucidate what and how to adjust it.

My production currently sucks!!

P.S:: my bench is firmly secured to the wall. I tightened the shellplate screw as per manual's spec.

I'll be out a couple of days so I may not be answering soon but I'll sure consider carefully every suggestion you'll be sending.

Edited by mccoy