Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Double Duty Sti Guns

A_Med

I have some questions for anyone using an STI 2011 in both disciplines. I'm curious how different folks are setup for this?

I have a new STI from Derek at Millenium Custom and I would like to use it in IDPA as well. What I already know is I need the SVI Magwell to fit in the box and the 126 Mags with Carry or International Basepads for IDPA. Easy enough, however, my Mags for Limited have Dawson basepads and I find they hit the SV Magwell just a bit. Enough to make you want to slam them home a little harder on a reload to be sure. This makes me want to use the Larger STI orICE magwell for Limited and switch back to the SV for IDPA, but, I'm concerned that the frequent swapping of the magwell would be a lot of wear and tear on the gun. I'm pretty new to the 1911/2011.

The second issue is the slidelock which is setup to Not lock back which could be an issue in IDPA. I could get a second Slidestop without the detent and swap it out as well but again the wear issue not to mention all this swapping is probably going to get old considering I can easily be shooting IDPA one day and IPSC the next.

I know the easy answer is get two guns ;-) but I really want to shoot this one gun all the time for consistency. Sorry for the long winded post and thanks for any and all feedback. Of course I did do a search but you can imagine how many posts have the terms STI in them.

Angel

I never experience a problem with Dawson pads and SV magwell however why not simply dremel the pads a little until you are more comfortable with them.

As far as the slide stop goes, it shouldn't be a wear and tear issue (gs correct me if i am wrong) but more one of whether or not that simple issue will result in a 100% function the way you want.

As to changing the magwells all the time, I wouldn't worry about the wear and tear as much as the relatively large difference in grip position between the SV and an ICE magwell.