Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Brass Weight

woody1961

I'm new to reloading with a 550B and after my last session I started reading on on the web about no/double charges. I got nervous even though I believe I checked every round for powder and went back and weighed the 200 rounds I had just made.

199 of them were within 1 - 1.5gr of each other (all Winchester Brass). One round is about 5 grains light, very close to my powder charge weight. I thought initially it might be a squib, but I noticed the headstamp is "R-P" (I must have picked up a stray at the range), which got me wondering if the case could be that much lighter.

Is this round safe to shoot? Does brass weight vary that much from manufacturer to manufactuter in .40 S&W?

Thanks in advance,

Woody

It's possible that a round could vary by that much even if it has the correct powder charge. The bullet might've been 2-3 grains lighter and the brass itself could've been 2-3 grains lighter.

If it made me nervous, I would pull the bullet and check the round. If you don't have one, an inertial puller (looks like a hammer) is $10-$15 at most reloading stores. Some folks are nervous using these kinds of pullers and prefer a press mounted collet style. I've used both, and never had an issue. For pulling lots of bullets, the press mounted collet is quicker.

To help reduce this problem, install a light and a mirror (think periscope) near the bullet seating stage to peer down into the case without having to contort your body. Then, you can visually check each charge before seating a bullet.

It's a very good thing that you're this paranoid about your handloads. I've met a lot of new handloaders that are braver than their experience warrants. Stay paranoid, it'll save your skin.