Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

David's Journey

WestPat

Hello,

I have loved to shoot my entire adult life.  I have always been blessed with land and have had some manner of a "range" at home or at the parents or in-laws.  It's been an escape for me and a way for the family to gather and have fun.  I have always worked to improve my accuracy, but I have never trained in an organized manner, or with a goal in mind.  Now I am 47 and the kids are grown, and the funds are more plentiful, and I can still run and zig-zag with minimal consequences.  I have decided to get off the sideline and go test my skills, meet new people, and train so that one day I will be ready to dominate the Senior Division!  My first match was shot on 2/25/2023, it was Steel Challenge, and I met my personal goal of shooting at least one run of each stage under 5 seconds, and not getting DQ'd on a Procedural.  I am an ICU nurse, and I am proud to say that nerves did not play a factor at all.  Not I am looking forward to my first USPSA match soon, and I am a little nervous about that.  I chose to start in Limited, because my eyes are still good and I have a Millennium Custom that I bought from a friend who had much luck in that Class.  

I welcome any and all advice, encouragement, and constructive criticism.  I understand that my physical abilities do have an expiration date, so I want to make sure that I am effective and purposeful going forward.  I think my areas of greatest need are efficiency of movement, mindset, and stage planning.  I am comfortable in my technical skills and what I can and cannot do.  I hope that this will be a journey of personal fulfillment and full of new friends and experiences.  Please share it with me.

David West

IG @mrddubbs

• 3 weeks later...