Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Encumbered by idjits he pressed on

Shepard

I’ve been out of shooting sports for 10 years now. First match back in 2 weeks. Only match I’ve ever been nervous about. 

I’ve never blogged, vlogged, or chronicled anything about myself on the internet but I decided to give a try as I start shooting again.  I’ll try to get some video up and would appreciate any input. 

When I left I was a reasonably competitive limited master. Mine is the same old story, life and eyesight teased away my energy and focus until I stopped shooting. Recently I found a Doc who spent the time to get my eyesight back on track. Its not as good as it used to be but I can clearly focus on the front sight with my dominant eye now. 

Its kinda funny, I didn’t really believe I’d lost that much off my shooting skills until I started practicing a couple weeks ago. I started out just shooting groups and it looked like a drunk monkey had thrown a handful of crap at the target.  Groups tightened up but still have a long way to go. I thought I’d throw a few classifiers together and see how I measured up. When the buzzer went off I lost complete control of all motor function and the sights looked like a grainy 8MM movie shot from atop a jackhammer.  Soooo, back to the basics. 

In addition to the standard dryfire I’ve started back today with some of the drills that I think helped me the most when I first started. 10 yrd “bill drills” helped me start tracking the sights. El Pres did the same plus mag changes and close transitions. Also, plate rack from 15 to 25 yards. 

I thought the results were kinda interesting. My timer display decided to crap out after only 10 years of disuse but the buzzer still worked.  So, instead of chasing what I know to be good times on those drills I focused all my attention on the sights and feeling the gun run. My shooting wasn’t very impressive but I eventually started getting glimpses of what I remember seeing 10 years ago.