Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New guy, testing spring weights for Para P18.9, any recommendations?

soulbyte

Hello, to everyone on the forum, this is my first post.

I am a new shooter to USPSA and for the last 4 months or so I have been shooting weekly in local club matches. I recently purchased a Para P18.9 9mm to shoot at matches along side my 1911 in 45acp. I'm trying out a few spring combinations out for the Para in competition.

Recently I've tried a a 14lb recoil and what I think may be a 21 or 23lb main. With this setup the factory 115gr loads felt very soft and very light, almost 22lr like. The drawback is a very heavy trigger pull and a heavy slide return.

Then I tried a 10lb recoil and and 17lb mainspring. The trigger is very light, slide easy to rack but the recoil is pretty snappy and the slide action is a bit slower.

I've ordered a 12lb recoil and 19lb mainspring and hope to test it soon. I'm a novice USPSA competitor at my local club and trying to get a better tune for repeat shots and faster sight aquisition.

Can anyone tell me what the factory main spring and recoil spring weights for a Para P18.9? Any recommendations on other combinations? I've heard of people using lower spring rates as low as 7-9lb recoil springs and 15lb mainsprings, but because I usually use range reloads and factory ammo and don't reload, those specs might be a little too light. Thanks in advance for your help.

Edited by soulbyte