Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Byron's log

h4444

OK,,,,we'll see where this goes. I'm a fat guy with a bum wheel and a house full of kids. We'll see how far dry fire, very little practice, and shooting a small club match every other week can take someone.

I've got about 10 years of practical shooting experience, when I left the game about 5 years ago I was having my best year in terms of performance improvement. It was that last year to year and a half that I had finally gotten serious about performance improvement. In Limited I had won by B card, L10 I was one good classifier away from A, and in only my second match ever with a real open gun I shot a special classifier match that put me at something like 74.79% in Open. After checking my classification data, I see that was five years and a month before I started my "comeback". LOL....

Since I'm going to have to rely a lot on dry fire, I won't bore you with entries after every dry fire session. I will add updates after matches,,,discuss changes/improvements, and post some video.

I appreciate any constructive feedback.

Well, I'll make the first shooting related entry here, it is brief and there is no video evidence - thankfully. I shot my first match in 5 years two weeks ago. It was a small club level match. I shot production with a pistol I had only shot 100 rounds through previously and that was literally standing at a firing line plinking. My speed was better than I hoped for in that match, no mikes on paper, but my accuracy BLEW, too many Charlies, too many Delta's, and too many make up shots on steel.

What was my lesson learned in production in my comeback??? I learned, gear up my old single stack for SS, L10, and yes,,,,,,Limited (at least till I can score a Limited gun) and forget Production for now. :D

Goals for this week's match:

1. 2 or fewer D's for the entire match
  2. Shoot no hostages or get any other penalties
  3. Shoot 93%+ of points for the match
  4. No blown mag changes