Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

RO class Bullsh*t

3quartertime

I just took the Level 1 RO class from J. Worden.  Fantastic class for the most part.  Jay is a great guy!!!   His knowledge of RO'ing is exceptional and he obviously has taught the class for years.  

My beef comes from the range training session.  I was completely appaulled by the farce that occured.  I am the first to admit that I'm a newbie at this sport.  I've RO'ed at the local matches when needed but have more commonly scored.  I do own my own range and generally RO unless someone competant wants to do it.  

I've been shooting for 30 years.  Just in the last one or so have I really understood the principles of proper safety.  IPSC had changed the way I approach firearm safety.   I still have infractions even on my range,  but others are quick to point them out ( One particular 'range nazi' forum member, hint hint).  I may not like being reminded but I ALWAYS appreciate being stopped and set right.  ( thank you to that particular forum member!!!)

At the end of the RO class is the practical test.  You get to 'run' a student and everyone gets to shoot the RO El Prez.  I had a problem.  I've always used the command ' slide forward, hammer down'  This was a pet peeve with Jay.  I messed up the first time and had to re-test.  Unfortunetly as the 'field test'  progressed the crowd started to engage in a game.  The rules were -find a way to get the new RO to mess up-.   There were attempted AD's within a few feet of the shooters box,  young shooters that were allowed to 'play' during live ammo runs, more procedurals than I've ever seen ( all blatently intentional)  and general chaois during the test.  My group finished as quickly as we could and left.

In Jay's defense most of the 'idiot actors' belonged to the sponsering club.  Jay is a professional and I am not.  I agree that the situation was probably under his control and as a newer member I didn't see all that he did.