Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Choosing first division for 3-gun

michael1778

I hope to attend at least two other matches before I go to Texas Multigun in April. Unless I decide to drop big money on guns I don't have to shoot WW2 Division, I have a tough choice to make.

I've never shot a 3-gun match before. My background is pistols with a small amount of trap shooting. Rifle time before 2011 was essentially nil.

As a new 42-year old male shooter with novice rifle skills, should I be looking more toward Limited or Tactical (as the Texas match calls it). Tactical for the April match is what many would call Tactical Optics.

I have no rifle optic now. Looks like I will need to buy either a nice 1x or a 1-4-ish scope for Limited or Tactical, respectively. For someone just starting like me, what would you recommend.

Thanks,

Mike

PS - I'm rough with irons since I have no real experience. Not terrible, just inconsistent and lacking confidence.

OK. What kind of rifle do you have? You can put a red dot on and still shoot limited. TacOps is what most new shooters shoot. If you are really a novice, you need to be very careful and practice handling your guns, not breaking the 180, putting safeties on. Pat Kelly-a great 3 Gun shooter gave me some great advice at my first 3 Gun Match. When you start you have to be consciously aware of everything you are doing as you do it. It will be slow compared to top shooters, but it will be fun and you will be safe. As you get better you progress through to become unconsciously aware as you shoot . Kind of walking through the match is the best way to describe it.