Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

9x19 - Just Worked Up A Load

chp5

I started shooting Production a few months back and, up until now, I've been shooting Win white box and Wolf - both in 115. I like both. I especially like the Wolf @ $85 a case!

Anyway, I just started reloading for 9x19 and chrono'ed today. In case anyone's interested in the data:

* About 47 degrees today

* Shot all loads fron my Glock 34

* Wolf 115 - average was 1151 - 132 pf

* My load - 115 Rainier round nose over 4.7 grains of Titegroup and Win primers - average was 1256 - 144 pf

I like both. I'll probably reduce the charge to try to reproduce the Wolf load, but I really don't feel much difference.

CHP: you want to feel a really really soft production load, try 147 grain bullets at about 875 FPS (128 powerfactor) and load long to 1.150" for positive feeding in your Glock; it will radically change your view. You might also consider the following powders: book loads: N 330 or Titegroup Even softer yet: (non book load) N310.

Thanks Carlos. I've heard that the 147s are very soft. I'll still shoot a lot of Wolf or Win white box, so I think I'll stick with a load that's similar in feel to those.

This may be off base, but I also shoot Limited and I'm worried that I'll get lazy or just used to mouse loads if that's all I shoot - and then the Limited gun will feel like it has too much flip, etc. Maybe I'm over-thinking it.

CHP5 - I was told that "Wolf" (Russian) ammo had corrosive primers & powder and to stay away from them unless I planned on cleaning my gun each and every time I used them. Maybe the info that I got was (is) wrong. Are you aware of anything like this? Also, I am running a 148 gr. RN with 3.7 gr. of Unique. Crono average 915. PF 135. Accurate but soft as a baby's butt. Only problem is that Unique is dirty but I had an 8 lb. keg and decided to use it up. Thanks -JC :)