Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Doodle's Diary

Doodle

My dearest diary,

I've been shooting for almost 2 years now. I started competing in USPSA not long after I first picked up a gun. I've been stuck in D class in production, and it's starting to get old. Guess it's time to start taking this whole shooting thing a little more seriously and actually try practicing. Well, I started to make a list of all the things I needed to work on, and it got quite extensive. I think I will list everything here and use it as a reference anytime I'm wondering what I can work on or to assess how I am doing in each area.

I. Strength

I need to exercise to improve my overall strength, particularly:

-Grip for managing recoil; also weak hand/strong hand shooting

-Shoulders/arms to stay stable and keep the gun at eye level throughout the stage

-Legs for a stable base and various shooting positions

II. Trigger control

III. Sights

-Being able to quickly acquire sights.

-Staying straight

-Smaller point of aim

-Calling my shots

-Using both eyes; correcting the blinking and squinting

IV. Draws (Surrender, at sides, table, etc.)

-Weak hand position at belly

-Pushing straight out (I tend to push up and then out)

-Grip at draw

V. Reloads

-Keeping gun at eye level

-Mag release (I have little hands)

-Speed!

VI. Target Acquisition

-Moving quickly/confidently to the next target

-Acquiring the target without go too far or not far enough/precision

-Small aim (Not so much of the "Ooh I see brown.. yank trigger.)

VII. Movement and Positioning

-Flexibility in and out of positions

-Movement to next target

-Shooting on the move

-Doors, Ports and Barricades

VIII. Moving targets

-Swingers, Texas Stars, Drop turners, etc

IX. Understanding the "Game"

-Scoring

-Speed vs Accuracy

-Walking the stage