Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

FIRE SAFETY

Chris Keen

I posted this as a reply to another topic, and thought it might be a good idea to start a new thread reminding everybody of the benefits of having a fire extinguisher in your reloading room. Since many of us are cooped up inside our houses during the Winter months waiting for a nice warm day to go outside and shoot, we may tend to do more reloading to pass the time, or perhaps to get a jump-start on the upcoming season.

Therefore I think this is a perfect time to talk about FIRE SAFETY in relationship to bullet reloading.

As a fire protection engineer I always try to be diligent about fire safety. Fires can get out of control faster than most people can imagine. And when smokeless powder & primers are in close proximity, the danger can multiply.

I believe that having a fire extinguisher "right next to your bench" is NOT the best place to keep an extinguisher.

Keep your fire extinguishers near the door of your reloading room.

The NFPA says the proper way to use a fire extinguisher is to "keep your back to an unobstructed exit, and stand at least 6-8 feet from the fire". Most of our reloading areas are not much bigger than 8 feet across, so you should be at the proper distance if you keep your extinguisher near your door. Then while on your way out, if you think that the fire is controllable, you can pick up the fire ext. by the door and attempt to extinguish the fire ... while keeping your path of egress open and available at all times. Never let the fire be between you and your exit path. That includes before the fire starts.

• 1. If you are in the room when a fire starts .... your 1st priority should be getting out quickly. Your life is priceless, and putting a safe distance between you and the fire should be the most important thing. Dont worry about your house. Dont worry about your guns. You and your family are the only priority here. We have insurance for everything else.