Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How to keep a match going

sperman

One of our local matches is on it's last leg, and I'm looking for some ideas on how to keep it going. I know the MD reads the forums, I hope I'm not stepping on his toes. I think he is as desperate for help as I am.

Here's a brief history. When I started shooting almost 2 years ago, this was the first match I went to. The MD was very helpful, and since I was a member at the club where the match was shot it wasn't long before I was pitching in every month. For over a year I've set up at least 2 stages every match, sometimes more. There's another shooter who could almost always be counted on to setup every month. The last stage or two (of the 5 stage match) was usually a last minute stage put up by some of the other shooters who showed up early (or something thrown together by myself and the other regular.)

After doing this for over a year, and watching my shooting suffer because I was exhausted at the start of the match, I told the MD that I needed to take some time off and focus on my shooting. At the same time, the other regular just had a baby, and he is cutting back on all of his shooting, including setting up a stage at this match. As a result, there is almost no support for this match. The MD was burned out before I started shooting and I appreciate him keeping the match going for this long, but without any help the match has been cancelled for the last two months.