Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

I think the Dillon 650 is right for me . . .

Pro2AInPA

I've been loading my ammo on a Lee classic turret press for a couple of years. It has served me well and I have loaded thousands and thousands of rounds on it. But I am gearing up to go full steam ahead and get into competitive shooting and I'm going to need to be able to load my ammo faster.

I've been torn between the 550 and the 650 but I think I want the 650 due to the auto indexing and the ability to use the case feeder.

I do have some quick questions regarding the 650

1. My loading consists of 75% 9mm, 20% .223 and 5% .45ACP. So I won't need to change calibers all that often. I've read that caliber changes are harder on the 650 than the 550, but how much harder are they really?

2. Regarding the case feeder. Am I correct that I only need to buy one case feeder and then just get the correct plates for the three different cartridges? Or do pistol and rifle use an entirely different case feeder all together?

3. For you guys that have used a 650 and a 500 extensively, just how much faster is the 650?

Thanks and Merry Christmas! :cheers:

1. My loading consists of 75% 9mm, 20% .223 and 5% .45ACP. So I won't need to change calibers all that often. I've read that caliber changes are harder on the 650 than the 550, but how much harder are they really? Not really. One or two more steps than a 550 because of the case feeder. Very easy IMO. Dont forget a case feeder on a 550 has parts that need changed during a caliber conv. Not a big deal, but it needs done.

2. Regarding the case feeder. Am I correct that I only need to buy one case feeder and then just get the correct plates for the three different cartridges? Or do pistol and rifle use an entirely different case feeder all together? YES. One casefeeder for all.