Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Reloading

Tangram

The purpose of this post is to write about the satisfaction I have experienced in learning to reload. If anyone follows up take the thread where you like I have had my say.

I started shooting sporting clays a few years ago. Hooked, obsessed, yes I was having a good time. My habit evolved from buying shells at Wallmart to picking up 1oz Rios fifty flats at a time. Then it looked like my already built shells were only marginally more expensive than reloads. And who would want shells that went poof instead of a reassuring crack time after time.

Don't discount the power of conformity. I had several shooting buddies and they reloaded. However, I stayed strong. After Mel invited my to see his new Mec 9000 and extorted me to pull the handle once. I retreated to the corner and worked up the cost of reloads and with a sigh was pleased to find my store bought loads were competitively in priced. I don't care that I can make the loads exactly as I wanted them. No there is no rational reason why I read ShotgunWorld's reloading forum with interest. But I did.

Smuggley I repeated my mantra, right now it is not worth reloading, or is it. Curt seemed to think so he invited my to his garage to see his five reloaders. We even made a few loads. Not good, not good at all, they all went bang. Then he offered me a few bags of shells when I was running low. No, not good, not good at all, they all went bang.

Temptation strengthened as the price of lead shot slid down the commodities hill. Yes, I could pay for the equipment... Oh! Curt mentioned that he happened to find an extra Mec 600 hidden on one of his shelves. Would I want to come over and try it out?

He just happened to have all the components laid out. Entrapment? With a few words of wisdom I loaded my first two boxes of shells.