Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Shotgun patterns for sporting clays?

John E

Hi guys!!

I am fairly new to the sporting clay situation and frankly I am confused at the optimum sporting clays patterns. I can understand why a trap gun would shoot a much higher percentage of the shot above the horizontal. I am currently thinking of buying a Browning Citori Special Sporting Clays Edition 12 ga., but when I patterned it yesterday, it was about 95% above the horizontal and well centered. I also patterned my Verona LX680 and it was probably 30% below and 70% above the horizontal. I would think this configuration would be better for sporting clays whereas the Browning seems to me to be basically a trap gun with sporting clays written on the side.

I would LOVE to have some illumination from the more knowledgable shooters out here.

Thanks!!

Shotgun patterning is also influenced by "how" the shtgun fits you. The length of pull of the stock, the rib design, the comb, etc. impacts point of impact - that is one reason why some shooters install an adjustable comb.

Hi guys!!

I am fairly new to the sporting clay situation and frankly I am confused at the optimum sporting clays patterns. I can understand why a trap gun would shoot a much higher percentage of the shot above the horizontal. I am currently thinking of buying a Browning Citori Special Sporting Clays Edition 12 ga., but when I patterned it yesterday, it was about 95% above the horizontal and well centered. I also patterned my Verona LX680 and it was probably 30% below and 70% above the horizontal. I would think this configuration would be better for sporting clays whereas the Browning seems to me to be basically a trap gun with sporting clays written on the side.

I would LOVE to have some illumination from the more knowledgable shooters out here.

Thanks!!

Talk with Claudio at Briley and tell him I sent you and he can point you in the right direction, those guys are great over there.

Sean