Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Cheryl Leck passed away

A. Miguel

WOW!!!! i was just trying to remember who it was that had the business back when I started shooting, i couldn't remember their names and I came upon this thread and there it was.

I can recall a lot of good that the Lecks did for shooting, its ironic that I was just thinking of them this weekend.

Trapr

As many of you know, Cheryl went through some tough times these last few years. But personally, I remember her as the beautiful, energetic lady who was very involved with USPSA shooting through the 90's. She was always willing to help new shooters, and she considered all of her customers to be her personal friends. Our sport certainly benefitted by her involvement.

For me, she was the first USPSA member I spoke with. I got her phone number from a 1995 Front Sight advertisement for the Texas Riviera Match. I'll always remember her enthusiasm as she described the sport, and as she encouraged me to call shooters closer to my home (she gave me names and phone numbers of Austin's clubmembers -- 200 miles away from her hometown). When I finally met her a few months later, she gave me a big hug and told me she was glad I got involved. From that hug forward, she was OK in my book.

On her tables she sold many products that people instantly recognised as "Leck's"; and for over a decade of major matches she worked her tail off to insure shooters had fun.

Those of you who remember her are obviously members who have participated in this sport for many years. I know she'd be uplifted by your fond memories.

Below is funeral info from Dave Skinner.

DVC,

Don Hardy

Visitation: 6:00-8:00 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 1, 2009

Moore Funeral Home

402 South Alamo

Refugio, TX 78377

Services: 2:00 p.m. Wednesday, Sept. 2, 2009

St. Katherine’s Church

Approx. ½ mile North of intersection CR2441 & FM202 in Blanconia, TX

Parents address for cards:

Sandy and Johnny Harrison

315 Avalon Dr.

Victoria, TX 77901