Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Lead Reloads

Bob Westgate

How does the Polygonal barrel handle lead reloads?

Bob Westgate

Witness Match 45 ACP

I would say everyone's experience is different, but my limited is doing just fine with them, I have about 3k through mine and no concerns with pressure or leading. I have not grouped lead ammo, but it is good enough to drop a popper at 45 yds.

Lee

How does the Polygonal barrel handle lead reloads?

Bob Westgate

Witness Match 45 ACP

I would say everyone's experience is different, but my limited is doing just fine with them, I have about 3k through mine and no concerns with pressure or leading. I have not grouped lead ammo, but it is good enough to drop a popper at 45 yds.

Lee

Thanks Lee, I have been using 200 Grain H&G 68's in my 1911's for many years and would like to use them when my Match arrives. I've heard Glock's don't handle lead because of the polygonal barrel so I was worried I couldn't use them on the EAA.

Bob Westgate

Thanks Lee, I have been using 200 Grain H&G 68's in my 1911's for many years and would like to use them when my Match arrives. I've heard Glock's don't handle lead because of the polygonal barrel so I was worried I couldn't use them on the EAA.

Bob Westgate

I think what you find a problem with first won't be the lead, it will be the HG68 profile. Everyone I know with a Tanfo shoots RN or RNFP/TC, No one can seem to get a SWC to feed as reliably.

Lee

The users manual says nothing about lead projectiles, even for the Gold Team. It only has the usual no handloaded ammo clause, so if it were an issue, then its the manufacture's oversight is something goes wrong. There is plenty of lead ammo from factories. I doubt it would be an issue. I never have to clean my barrel on my Limited, but I'm only shooting Montana Gold FMJ.