Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Physical therapy help

atbarr

Back in '06 I had my right shoulder replaced. Absolutely no problems,...until I started shooting IDPA and USPSA last year.

I have a real problem when I'm drawing my pistol. It's really hard on my shoulder to pull my pistol out of my holster. Can anyone suggest an exercise that will help me draw my pistol a little faster?

Thanks,

A.T.

How much overhead pressing have you done to rehabilitate it?

Hows your flexibility? Range of motion? Strength? Age? Other chronic injuries? Overweight?

<How much overhead pressing have you done to rehabilitate it?>

Not much, too painful.

<Hows your flexibility? Range of motion?>

To be honest, I was very pleased when I could actually comb my hair with my right hand. If I had to do it all over again, I would not have the operation. The only range of motion problem I'm having is getting my pistol out of the holster.

<Age?>

64 in October.

<Other chronic injuries?>

No, thankfully.

<Overweight?>

Back in '02, I was almost 290 lbs (6' tall). I looked around and didn't see any 80 yr. old obese men. So I've lost down to 205 lbs. +-.

A.T.

There is no easy answer to your question. Being a sport of one sort or another for all my life have had a number of injuries that needed to be repaired then rehabilitated. At age 62 more frequently too. Have had good and bad results with Therapist, Chiropractors and even the guys at my gym. What you need is someone who can analyse whats going on then recommend a good routine . Injury's can set things in place and cause permanent shifts in body movement and flexibility. Most all can be corrected with patience and steady application of exercises.