Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

226 X5 All Around

ammowaster

Anyone running a all around. I am thinking about changing up guns and I have been wondering if the all around is noticeably better than a 226 stainless(current gun) or a elite stainless?

They look very nice but they are spendy

Thanks

They are much better than the 226 line. I don't even know why they say 226 on the slide. I like the 226 - but really- two different guns.

Buy one...take a picture...post it!

Great choice for production!

Good luck!

I've been playing around with an Allround for about two months now. When it works, it shoots like a dream. It really is a rifle in pistol form.

I've had serious extraction issues with my Allround. The internal extractor is flaky at best.

Kept reasonably clean, the external extractor on the stainless slide P226s works flawlessly. It's a real shame an external extractor wasn't fitted onto the X-Five lineup.

I had one. Ran like a raped ape but God that thing was heavy. Very accurate and seemed to have a smaller diameter grip than a standard 226. I put a short trigger in it and it was alot easier to shoot but it definately needs a trigger job out of the box.

DaG

The X Series guns actually are made and assembled in Germany and imported. The 226 and others are made in Exeter.

The few X-5 all arounds I have seen at local matches always seem to have intermittent extraction and light strike issues. But man.....talk about an accurate pistol.

One of our local guys(Sig sponsored)shoots the lightweight X6 in Bianchi and he says it shoots 1 1/2" at 50 yards on a bad day.

I've got an X-5 Allround I shot for a while. It is very accurate and mine has had flawless reliability. I put about 2k Winchester White Box through it with no malfunctions at all. I know that is not a high round count, but still, it has had ZERO problems.

Thanks for the replys

I still dont know what to do. I am not changing anything before nationals but after that it is up in the air.