Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New reloader getting ready

Z32MadMan

I'm new to reloading and I'm looking to buy my first reloading press in December-ish. I'm sick of not having a reliable source of ammo so I figure now is the time to get into reloading. I'm pretty set on buying one of BE's 550B kits. I'm pretty excited for that, but I won't have money for several more months. So I thought I would start buying supplies now, so I don't have to worry about not having primers ect when I get my press. Is there a reliable place to backorder primers? What do you think the best route would be for me to have primers in the next 3 months?

Also can I get some confirmation on supplies to buy? I'm going to be shooting black moly bullets (not decided yet on 125gr, 130gr, or 147gr for my Sig P226), so would Solo 1000 be a good poweder for running moly bullets for 9mm minor?

I was thinking about putting in orders for

-3000-3500 9mm moly bullets (anyone have a preference between Black Bullets International and Precision Bullets? the first seems to be a bit cheaper)

-4lbs of Solo 1000

-5000 small non-magnum pistol primers (And from what I can tell CCI, Federal, and Wolf are all good choices?)

I would really appreciate any comments or advice!

Thanks

I'm new to reloading and I'm looking to buy my first reloading press in December-ish. I'm sick of not having a reliable source of ammo so I figure now is the time to get into reloading. I'm pretty set on buying one of BE's 550B kits. I'm pretty excited for that, but I won't have money for several more months. So I thought I would start buying supplies now, so I don't have to worry about not having primers ect when I get my press. Is there a reliable place to backorder primers? What do you think the best route would be for me to have primers in the next 3 months?