Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

American Select and Dillon XL650

I'm new to reloading and I bought a Dillon XL650, at the instance of my brother. I'm very happy with the press. I'm using American Select powder, of the choices I had available it was recommended as the best. It's a circular flake powder. The powder throws I'm getting vary by plus or minus 0.1. I've tried several different quantity settings with the same result. Is that normal/ acceptable, or am I doing something wrong?

Thanks

I'm new to reloading and I bought a Dillon XL650, at the instance of my brother. I'm very happy with the press. I'm using American Select powder, of the choices I had available it was recommended as the best. It's a circular flake powder. The powder throws I'm getting vary by plus or minus 0.1. I've tried several different quantity settings with the same result. Is that normal/ acceptable, or am I doing something wrong?

Thanks

American Select is actually quite good in some calibers/loads. It is not among the best metering powders but is still perfectly adequate in the Dillon PM. I've found that it's "fluffy" nature requires a little bit longer to fully settle in the measure but once it does, meters fine.

From my Which Dillon:

Powder Scale/Powder Measure Calibration Tip

Take a minute to read this and you'll save yourself hours of fiddling around, calibrating the Powder Measure over the course of your "reloading life."

In a nutshell - throw four individual charges in the scale's pan before adjusting the Powder Measure. Especially as you're coming close to your target charge weight.