Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

OAL PROBLEMS

RAZZ

I was hoping I could get some advice from those with much more experience than this novice reloader. I have a Lee loadmaster in .40 that I have loaded less than 3000 rounds on. It has the carbide die set as well as the factory crimp die. I am reloading hard cast 180 gr. bullets with mixed brass. The loader works well, however, my OAL in very inconsistent. For instance, I will load a round, check it as it comes out of the seating die and it will mic. at say 1.120. The very next one might be 1.140, and the one after that 1.100. I have thouroughly cleaned the dies of any lead shavings, made sure all the dies were tightened per the owners manual (it says hand tight), and have been concious of pulling the handle the same every time. I can understand slight differences in OAL round to round, but what I am getting just plain sucks. Any ideas? Thanks...

I don't mean to offend, but for the love of pete by a DILLON.

OR, check which shape the bullet seater is, in the die, make sure it matches the projectile. Also check your crimp. I would suspect that you are using one die to seat and crimp. Buy a seperate crimping die.

Happy shooting.

Check your bullets.  I used to have a lot of problems wiht one brand of cast bullets throwing strange OAL's, and went thru the same things you are.  In the end, the local caster had some bad molds.  Try a box of good jacketed bullets, and see if your efforts aren't more effective.

I have that problem all the time, but with me it is from compressed powder, I doubt you are compressing the powder with 40sw and 180 gr bullets.

If I were you I would seat some bullets very slowly while watching. I would stop some of the bullets not seated all the way and tap them in with a hammer. Are the bullets seating too easily in the range you are having troule with? There is supposed to be a thickness taper in the case wall that should be giving a resistance to seating. Is that working?