Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!
Sign in to follow this  
creeknole

1911, STI and plastic trigger

I am new to the sport of pistol shooting. A good friend thankfully got me started and l love it. I was looking to put between $800 and $1200 in a 1911 45acp and start shooting it. I hear STI is a great gun, but what about the trigger is it not steel? and does that make any difference. Also, are they built on the basic 1911 style and are parts easy to get.?

1911 parts are everywhere, I think even Safeway and Wal-Mart sell parts for them ;) Don't worry about the plastic trigger in the STI guns, they will last the life of the gun. And yes, the guns are built off the standard 1911 design.

1911 parts are everywhere, I think even Safeway and Wal-Mart sell parts for them ;) Don't worry about the plastic trigger in the STI guns, they will last the life of the gun. And yes, the guns are built off the standard 1911 design.

Thanks for the advice. Do you have an opinion on the best gun for the amount of money I want to spend? I hear the STI's are the best but would you recommned this or another, opinion appreciated.

Edited by creeknole

I'd get a Trojan with ambi's from Brazos and have him do his reliability check, trigger work and his fiber optic front. Get some mags and you're good to go.

Have you ever considered getting a .40? Components (brass/bullets) are more plentiful and cheaper and you'll still be shooting major if you want.

I have read that the 45 is a more dependable cartridge than the 40 and doesnt jam as much? Also just wondering, why would STI use those plastic parts are they that much cheaper and reliable.