Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Recommended SIG 226 Mods for Production?

DVC247

Within the next couple of weeks I am going to be getting one of the new (all steel) SIG USPSA 226s to test drive extensively for an article for Front Sight. I have played with one already and have some impressions, but I am looking to benefit from other people's experience--factory recoil spring is 15 lbs, I presume I should switch that out? To what weight, 11 or 12? Planning on getting a trigger job too, probably bevel the mag well as it seems really tight (and I'm told most SIGs are like that). Anything else I should know or do? Spare parts for those known to break frequently, etc?

FYI Master class, and I have been shooting Production Division exclusively for the last 4 years, with a Glock.

My recommendation would be to send your P226 off to Bruce Gray and let him do his full competition upgrade.

The only parts that I've ever broken were the firing pin and firing pin positioning pin due to lots of dry fire without a snap cap.

In my experience, springs are the only things that wear out. I prefer the 14 lb recoil springs and 17 lb mainsprings.

Why not leave it stock and report on the pistol as it comes to you. We shuoldn't have to spend a grand on a pistol and another $500. replacing parts and getting parts fitted properly so the gun will operate smoothly.

Sorta like the writers who say gun shot a great 2" group at 21 feet aka 7 yards with one called flier. Ya right!

Take Care

Bob