Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

5 stand frenzy!

j1b

My IPSC blaster is on the fritz - at least the one I have out here is - so I was left with no choice but to shoot some clays this weekend.

First off, I am LOVING this new shotgun. I've had so much fun shooting clays games since I got it. I haven't shot a single round of trap with the dang thing, but several rounds of skeet and then 5 stand today. I can't wait to get a sporting clays course in. Soon enough - I'm still learning how to bust a few.

That 5 stand was a blast. Tons of fun! Fast paced! Lots of birds and fun targets. I shot 4 rounds and needless to say the first couple were pretty rough. Actually probably better than what they would have been a few weeks ago - but still not that great. I shot 13 birds the first round, then another 13. The second round I was doing pretty well until station 4 where I only hit one bird. Just started lifting my head and that was doom. Stage 4 I lost track - I shot those three rounds right in a row and I figured I needed a break. In about 40 minutes I shot 75 rounds.

So I sat a couple rounds out. Just watched. Jumped in for my fourth round and went 4-3-4-4-4 for a 19. All in all I didn't think that was too bad so I bagged the gun up and went house hunting.

A ton of fun though, hopefully do that again one day.

One interesting thing that has really helped me out. I mount the gun where I want to break the bird and set up so all of that is comfortable, then I swing over to my starting point. For some reason that has really helped me. I was starting out all comfortable on the start point and then when the bird flew I was swinging out of my comfortable stance. This has just helped a ton. And, true to what one might think - the targets today where I was less certain about where I was going to bust it or on the targets where I was less diligent about setting up proper my odds of missing went up a ton.