Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Match Design Epiphany

VegasOPM

Well I am kind of new to being the MD for my local club. I had a bit of an epiphany this last weekend... namely, my stage designs are hard. Lots of long, tight shots (drawing on 25yd 8" steel targets)... beaucoup hard cover... no shoots galore... movers.... Basically, it was geared towards accuracy and not beginner friendly. We had plenty of new shooters for the match, and I'm afraid that I might have freaked them out a bit. I want to challenge myself and the other high level shooters in the club, without leaving the rest of the shooters frustrated.

On the plus side, the Open shooters love it....

IMHO, you need to have a mix. The newbe might not come back. Set your stages so everyone has fun.

A.T.

Well I am kind of new to being the MD for my local club. I had a bit of an epiphany this last weekend... namely, my stage designs are hard. Lots of long, tight shots (drawing on 25yd 8" steel targets)... beaucoup hard cover... no shoots galore... movers.... Basically, it was geared towards accuracy and not beginner friendly. We had plenty of new shooters for the match, and I'm afraid that I might have freaked them out a bit. I want to challenge myself and the other high level shooters in the club, without leaving the rest of the shooters frustrated.

You really don't need those things to challenge high level shooters, usually they will step on the gas and create thier own hazard.

Try to leave lots of options, leave room for the new shooter to get clsoer to the targets while others might want to stay back and save time.

Some of my worst USPSA memories are from watching new shooters empty thier guns on a long steel shot. A mike on paper is much easier on a new shooter than not being able to hit steel while they feel everyone is watching.

Just my .02

Sherwyn