Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Best .40 S&W Factory Ammo

John Dunn

I'm going to make the switch from a SS .45 to a double stack .40 STI.  What is the best factory ammo with regards to low recoil, makes major, brass life, low cost, etc.

I see ads for Sellier and Bellot ammo in SGN at attractive prices, but I have no experience with this brand.  I realize this is pre-reloading question, but it seemed to fit best here.  Thanks for the help.

I have found the S&B ammo to be consistant and functional.

Natchez sells it at a good price.

http://natchezss.com/ammo/pistol/pa40sw.html

CCI's Blazer is even cheaper...but they don't use brass cases.  So reloading it is out.

The STI guns, however, may require a case loaded to a longer OAL than the stock.  (Some think the longer ammo feeds better.)

Jon:

I plan on doing the reloading once I stockpile enough .45 ammo so that I don't have to play switcheroo with the Dillon too often.  I've considered getting a second 550B just so I don't have to mess around with the press so much.  I am unfortunately lazy and have very limited time to reload.

The problem is the bright and shiny new pistol will be here begging to be shot long before I can get a new load squared away.  I figured a case or two of factory ammo would give me the cases for load development and still let me wring out the new gun.

Maybe the question should be: who makes the best brass?  Or what factory load would you shoot in a match if forced to do so?  I get to matches so seldom that finding a local reloader for hire is going to be hard.  I currently live in a state (WY) that has a smaller population than my previous city (Kansas City).