Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

.45ACP OALS

11thACR

Ok folks I have just started loading for the .45ACP round. I have been reloading on and off for about 30+ years but only rifle and revolver ammunition.Here is my problem every where I look on the firearm forums the OAL. for  the.45ACP for any specific bullet is different,this is one reason I have stayed away from semi-auto reloading,I Would like to ask someone on this forum to give me anOAL for this round using the following bullets: Speer 200gr SWC TMJ 185gr RemJHP .I will be using Clays and Titegroup as per the powder mfgs. recommendation. George M.

11thACR- welcome brother.  I hear you - I was there just 2.5 years ago without your rifle/revolver experience. over 13,000 .45 reloads later, I commend you on your choice of straight Clays powder - I think it is the perfect powder for .45  at 165 PF and bullet weights between 230 and 185.

Now, your question: the man you need to hear from is a member here known as CSTgunsmith (or something like that). He is writing a book on loading the .45. You can read up on bullet designs and read CST's excellent posts by doing a search on "H&G" or "68" - both of those refer to a classic long nosed SWC (to which the Speer soft lead swaged and plated "TMJ" is similar) usually found in 200 grain guise.  I loaded the similar WestCoast 200 plated SWC over 4.5 grns of straight Clays at 1.245 for most of my first season.

As for the "best" 200 grn SWC OAL, there are 3 theories I can identify as seeing here on the web:

1) Load SWCs (any SWCs) so just a hint of shoulder is exposed above the casemouth - usually less than 1.245" This seems to be an old, time worn idea from the days when .45s all used unsuported, non-ramped barrels. Times change, but this may still work.