Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How much do i save by reloading shotshells?

JPT

I am new to trap and clays, but i can tell i'll be doing it for a while. I can buy Remington Gun Club shells at Dick's on sale for 5 dollars per box. I can get Nitro shells for 8 bucks or so. How much $$$ am i going to save if I get a MEC single-stage press and reload all my shells.

I am figuring on going through maybe 300-400 shells a week.

BTW, if I can afford a MEC 9000 i would get one, I suppose. But the extra 350 dollars is a lot.

John

I thought about this same question when I started out shooting trap.

I fiugred I couldn't load 100 shells for less or equal to the 21.00 Walmart specials.

I might be able to get close or actually beat that price (not sure)

I figured for that price I'll save my time and not bother.

You will not enjoy reloading shotshells on a single state press any more than pistol shooters enjoy reloading on a single stage press. I suggest you look for a used progressive shotgun reloading press. I have a MEC single stage press I use for 28 gauge - I used a MEC 9000 for my 12 gauge loads when I reloaded.

I quit reloading 12 gauge shotshells about 5 years ago. I shoot what ever promotional load is available from Academy Sports, Dicks Sporting Goods, etc. I usually end up with Remington or Winchester 1 oz loads in 7.5s or 8s. I caught some on sale before Dove season at 3.99 per box of 25 - I bought 20 cases.

Reloading components cost rose so fast that I would have to order a trailer load to get the price down to a "reasonable" level. If you have a club or large group of shooters, it may make sense to reload if you can get shot, primers, wads, and powder at a "reasonable" cost. Most of my shooting partners quit reloading 12 and 20 and only reload 28 gauge or 410 now.

Get the 9000G, it is really painful to load 300 rounds a week on a single stage. The money spent is WELL worth the time saved and frustration saved.