Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Dan Carter

dcarter

This range diary was started to track my own progress and to give hope and assistance to others.

For those of you who do not know me let me give you a little background so you understand where I am, where I've been and where I want to be. I am 38 years old, a husband and father of 3 children (ages 1, 3, 6). I started shooting USPSA in May 2006 and became hooked instantly. After my initial classification as a "C" class shooter in production, using my duty gear and pistol (a S&W 5946 with a 12 pound trigger). I played a little in L-10 and was classified "C" class again. I went back to production after my department began issuing the S&W M&P9 and I have never looked back. After a couple of matches with my duty M&P I spent the money and bought one of my own so that I could do the mods that I wanted to.

Before I started shooting in this sport I had gained a lot of weight several years ago after I tore my knee apart chasing a 15 year old drug dealer. While this made for a perfectly good excuse for my weight several years ago, now it is no excuse at all. I have made a commitment to myself to lose as much of this extra baggage as I can between now and March of 2009. The plan for this has been in place, written on my match calendar, for the past two weeks and it is now time to put this plan into action. This, along with a planned and consistent dry fire / live fire schedule should put me in a much better position to win next year.