Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Installing a comp

jonny4523

You can use one of three methods.

You can get a peel washer and peel away the layers until the brake is timed correctly.

You can use a crush washer which flattens as you tighten the comp and time it correctly

or You can have a machinist install the comp and mill the backside fo the comp so that when it is tightened on the barrel shoulder it is timed correctly.

You can use one of three methods.

You can get a peel washer and peel away the layers until the brake is timed correctly.

You can use a crush washer which flattens as you tighten the comp and time it correctly

or You can have a machinist install the comp and mill the backside fo the comp so that when it is tightened on the barrel shoulder it is timed correctly.

It came with a peel washer, but I've never used one before. What is the best way to remove a single layer without negatively affecting the other layers.

I've always used a bic lighter to heat up and help separate the layers or the peel washer.

Wow, you learn something new every day. I've always used a razor blade and have been thankful that I didn't cut my fingers wide opened!

now for my $.02 worth.

I would not use a crush washer for a comp.

My experience is that a crush washer, being a spring.....may NOT keep your comp on your barrel straight, it may (and will) have the tendancey to actually tilt your comp. AND NEVER RE-USE A CRUSH WASHER FOR A COMP. A peel washer, will always back up completely against the shoulder....so if your shoulder is straight (and it should be, it was probably turned on a lathe), your comp will square up on the peel washer, as the peel washer will square up on the shoulder.