Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Uspsa/ipsc Open/limited ??major Or Minor

lnadler

I'm fairly new to IPSC- have been to ~5 matches and really like it. I have a Kimber .45 and have shot Limited 10, but after seeing the "big boys" shoot, I would like to move into Limited or Open with hi-cap mags. I currently have a EAA Witness competition 9x21 with comp and C-more sight. I haven't used it at any matches yet. Using factory ammo, I would be shooting minor.

I was planning to purchase a 38 super Open gun- STI. Using Remington +P factory loads, I was hoping to shoot major. I am not very competitive at this point, and enjoy shooting matches for the fun of it.

Do you think I'm crazy to spend $1500 for a used STI 38 super Open gun (includes 4 hi-cap mags and pouches)??? Should I just use the 9x21 and shoot minor Open??? Should I scrap the plans to buy a 38 super and go with a .40 cal Limited SV (includes 2 hi-cap mags) for $1450.

I confused and would appreciate some informed thoughts. Thanks.

Like the others have said I would go for the reloader first. It will not only save you enough money to pay for it self in just a short time it will also give you the ability to get the most out of what ever gun you have or buy.

I think there is a great deal on one in the classifieds. ;)

Or you can get great prices on new ones here

• 7 months later...

z) You should feel no shame shooting an EAA Witness.

4.3) I'd give the gun a chance to succeed before I went to a new platform. S_I is simply wunderbar stuff, but you're gonna blow a lot of time and ammo dialing into it.

*) Two years ago, I would have sworn that minor was easier and faster to shoot major. Today, I realize I'm an idiot. *If* you decide that you need a new gun, plan to shoot major. You can load it down until you groove in. If you decide to go this route, budget the money to send it to someone like a Bob Londrigan/Benny Hill/EGW class of shop and tell them "make it run."