Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Decided to get the Weaver scope, now what?

Revopop

Stimulus check has arrived, and I've decided to use some of it to mount a Weaver V series 1-3x20 scope on my new AR. I'm much more of a handgun guy, and I've never done this before.

I'm looking at Warne rings, as they seem to have a good reputation and aren't too expensive. They make Low, Medium, and High. The gun is a DPMS Sportical and has the Pardue telestock. Which rings do I need?

Should I order a cover or lenscaps for the scope while I'm at it?

Do I need any kind of special tools or know any kind of techniques to do this? A local range will mount and boresight a scope for about $15, but I'd rather spend the money on ammo.

I just knew you bastards would do that.

I've only had occasion to shoot one match with it, and we just shot the pistol stages over again. This rifle is just a plinker. I really don't even need a scope, I just want one. It's the cheapest good quality rifle I could find, and I'm about to put the cheapest good quality scope I can find on it, and I'd like to use the cheapest good quality rings I can to do it. To my very core, I'm a cheap bastard.

Weaver scope is on sale at Natchez for $139.95. I know that the Larue is the cat's ass, and I know I'd love it, but I just can't bring myself to spend $215 on it.

I just knew you bastards would do that.

I've only had occasion to shoot one match with it, and we just shot the pistol stages over again. This rifle is just a plinker. I really don't even need a scope, I just want one. It's the cheapest good quality rifle I could find, and I'm about to put the cheapest good quality scope I can find on it, and I'd like to use the cheapest good quality rings I can to do it. To my very core, I'm a cheap bastard.

Weaver scope is on sale at Natchez for $139.95. I know that the Larue is the cat's ass, and I know I'd love it, but I just can't bring myself to spend $215 on it.