Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Economical 3-Gun Setup

I'd say a decent 20" ar like a stag, or a dpms, and a nice cheap 870 shotgun with an extention to get you 8 round capacity. A pump won't be the fastest, but it will be less expensive to start with, get a nylon side saddle and maybe a forearm carrier or a shell tray or two. Maybe throw a comp on the rifle too, get a couple of Pmags, rock the pockets for extra mags. BUT I'm far from an expert ;)

John,

what if anything do you already own?

I have a handgun. I am shooting pistol matches right now. I am thinking that i might try 3-gun next year a couple times. I guess I am looking for the equivalent of a Glock 17 or XD-9 - where you can be perfectly competent and get away with not spending the $$$ on unneeded bling. I don't have a dollar figure in mind. But if a $500 shotgun and an 800 dollar rifle gets you in the game, then I'm happy.

It depends on what kind of 3gun/Multigun you want to try. If just small local stuff a Remington 870 would work well as would a iron sighted M4 style rifle (you could pick up either used in those price ranges). Later you could add an optic to the rifle.

The $$$$ amounts you listed will get you started in 3 gun, the easiest way to start would be iron sight division, an xd9 or glock, and a 800.00 AR would do nicely to start, the question would be a shotgun. a pump would be cheapest but a distinct disadvantage on speed. if you look around you could probably find an auto to fit your needs for a fair price.

you DO NOT need an optic on your rifle to compete in 3gun.

trapr

trapr

Amen!

Save yourself some major cash (no scope) and come play with THE riflemen of 3 gun.

OK so I am a little biased.

A pump for now and if you learn to reload as fast as the best in the field you will place ahead of many (most) of

the self-loaders.

Just come play!!!

Patrick

John,

what if anything do you already own?