Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

.38 Super VS. .38 Short Colt

Revopop

First off, it's gonna be a little while before I buy a new gun. It sucks, but I got a few revolvers so it's okay. ;) I really have no need for an 8-shot revolver, but it might be fun to have one with a red dot for steel and the slim chance that I decide to drive 4 hours to the nearest ICORE match. I just started shooting steel and I find it's a good excuse to justify getting virtually any gun I want just 'cause. (Open revolver? Minor Single Stack? Plastic .45? Well, I guess I could use it for steel...)

I ran across a .38 Super 627 on GunBroker. It is of course obscenely expensive. That made me wonder, why not just get a .357 and rechamber it to .38 Super? You'd be coming out ahead monetarily, and I've read that the bore on the Super is .357 anyway, so there wouldn't really be a disadvantage.

But then I thought, is there really any reason why .38 Super would be more advantageous than Short Colts? Doesn't the Super case kind of have a rim anyway? Is there any reason I should be lusting after a 627 in .38 Super?

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

It's probably only advantageous if you already own a gun in 38 super and like me have a very large amount of brass for it. I've been told that the 38 super guns prefer .357" bullets to shoot well. I've tried some .357" bullets in my 627 - 357 magnum and got only so so results.. I'm thinking unless we/you find out that they are the same barrel that this might make a difference. I own 2 - 627PC's now both in 357 magnum and kind of want one in 38 super now.. It was too rich for my blood though.. For that price, I'm happy shooting 38 long colts or 38 spls in my 357 magnum gun.

Edited by sargenv

I am, to my very core, an absolutely cheap bastard, so I probably won't pay up for a Super unless I'm convinced there's some problem with changing a .357 to Super or a major advantage to using Super over Short Colts.