Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Any tips for mounting a scope ?

StealthyBlagga

I just acquired a Meopta K-Dot scope and LaRue SPR-E mount. They are going on a 20" HBAR flat top AR15 in .223 (not too much recoil, obviously). Do you guys have any special tips for ensuring the best possible zero-retention ? I know to use blue Loctite on the mount screws, but do you have any other tips or suggestions ? I've always been a Tac Iron guy, so I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to quality optics... thanks in advance.

Edited by StealthyBlagga

I am not to sure I would loc-tite the screws for the rings, I woould tighten them propperly, but no loc-tite. I have never had a ring screw loosen, but I have had them so stuck they had to be drilled out. If you wish to use something on the rings themselves I wouldn't use loc-tite for that either, I use a product called Electra-Coat. It is made by 3-M and can be found at Electrical supply stores. It remains soft and it STICKS like crazy! It never dries out like Loc-tite. KurtM

What Kurt says...no loc-tite is needed using the proper/instructions on the LaRue rings/mount. The mount you selected is the best and if you follow the instructions you will be pleased for sure. Have been runing the same combo of scope and mount on my rifle for over a year and would not change a thing.

Since the rings are not your average rings just take your time and tighten slow! As you notice there are a lot of screws in the LaRue mount and they are made in such a way that they are rock solid and the whole mount and scope will return as they should.

Then go and shoot the hell out of the gun, shoot it like you own it:)

Scott

Thanks for the input guys. I already mounted the scope with blue Loctite on the screws but not on the rings... at least the mount should not shake loose! I really like shooting with a scope - being able to actually see the target almost feels like cheating :roflol: .

20TacScopeRifle-RHS-H1.jpg

Edited by StealthyBlagga