Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

625 Sights

NMBOpen

I have a 625-4 Model of 1989 5" that has reached the extreme of elevation adjust, but needs to go a little further to put POI on top of front blade. Rear blade is at max height, and had popped out of threads. Looking for suggestions.

post-12985-1207882255.jpg

post-12985-1207882237.jpg

I'm a total neophyte in this area, but I would guess that you may want to get a different rear sight. My Model of 1989 has a Millet rear and an SDM fiber optic front. I like it a lot more than a standard rear blade, as the sight picture is a little more like a Bomar rear. People on the forum also speak highly of the LPA rear sight, though I have no personal experience with it. Another option may be to file down the front sight.

Others may be able to comment on whether or not you've got a problem other than the sights and the sights are just a symptom of an underlying issue. Good luck!

You have a couple of obvious options: shorten your front blade or have somebody install a shorter one. The other is to install a taller rear sight...either by replacing the blade in your sight or buying an aftermarket one. The Bowen Classic Arms S&W sight is a good one, and a tall rear blade is available.

Mark Dye

Please don't be offended by this, but before doing anything to your sights, have you made absolutely sure you're not yanking your shots low?? Have you benched the gun, or had an experienced revolver shooter give it a try?

It's just that I've never seen a factory 625 that couldn't be properly dialed in.....

Please don't be offended by this, but before doing anything to your sights, have you made absolutely sure you're not yanking your shots low?? Have you benched the gun, or had an experienced revolver shooter give it a try?

It's just that I've never seen a factory 625 that couldn't be properly dialed in.....

This would have been my suggestion. It also has the benefit of being cheap to try.