Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What Does Your Limited Or Limited 10 Look Like?

DBake

• 2 months later...
  • Replies 939
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I just started shooting IPSC matches this year.  I'm using an off the shelf "$700" 1911 in .45ACP (Dan Wesson Patriot) for Limited-10.  The only changes I made were to change the grips (personal preference) and to lock-tite the adjustable sight in place.

Cool gun!

I've only read about them online and in the gun rags. Do you like how it shoots? Is it reliable? What magazines do you use?

Can anybody spot the gun that is practiced with the most out of these photos? :P

It's easy to spot the cheatin' PRACTICER's gun! :P

The black stuff on my Eclipse is rubbing away in some spots! Does that count if I did it with a dremel tool to simulate holster wear? :rolleyes:

Team Sand Captain,

Hey, no fair! I took that picture the day I brought the gun home.

rhino,

I'm fairly pleased with the "Patriot", for its price. It has been reliable with the following caveats:

1. Between round 500 and 1500, rounds would sometimes nose-up into the roof of the chamber and it would not fully return to battery. This went away as mysteriously as it began, with the possbility that the gun broke in fully, or I found the "right" OAL & bullet combination.

2. I started to get fail-to-extract failures. This was ultimately due to a bunch of crud in the external extractor's channel in the slide. I figure if I punch the pin out and clean it about every 2000-3000 rounds it will continue to extract perfectly.

3. The cross-pin on the Bomar-copy rear sight has broken 4 times so far. This is probably due in part to sight's high elevation. My latest fix was to replace the last broken steel pin with the turned-down titanium drill bit shank, and then sluice lock-tite into the moving parts of the sight. It doesn't move any more.