Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

quadriceps

No.343

After several years of neglect I drew the line in the sand and decided that I am not getting any fatter. I've been working out regularly for the last several months. Most of the work I've done on a elliptical machine and a stationary bike. I started lifting weights regularly about two months ago. I want to loose some weight, but that has been very slow in coming. I can tell that I am in better shape based on the feedback I get from the exercise machines and the amount of weight I am lifting has increased steadily. That encourages me and I don't worry about the pounds too much. I tell myself that improvements in performance really are improvements. There is one big exception and that is with leg curls. For some reason I have not been able to increase the weight for leg curls at all. I try to increase the weight I use and my form goes out the door. I cannot do honest repetitions with more weight. WHAT IS THE DEAL? I'm a little bit frustrated. Appreciate any ideas you have. Thanks.

Leg curls tax hamstrings, leg extensions tax quads. I'm pretty much sold on Cross-fit as a concept --- but I need to be in better shape and out of school before I give it a whirl. If you want to develop leg strength using conventional lifting, I've found squats and lunges to be hard to beat......

Squats are pretty much the most important exercise you can do...as long as they are done correctly. My advice would be to check out the site and the forums and forget you ever saw the leg-curl (or extension) machine.

(God help the people I see at the gym doing squats on a smith machine).

After a quick glance at that web site it looks like a new education in catapulting myself out of a comfort zone.

Yeah, that's pretty much it in a nutshell... :lol:

BTW - you're not using quads to do leg curls ;) Those would be extensions.... But... you're far better off doing more functional movements, it would seem...