Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Home made vibrating primer tube filler

Shadowdog500

I bought my first Dillon from Brian Enos last week, I had it for a few days now and wanted a vibraprime. No one makes them anymore, so my wheels started turning.

Here is my first Dillon Video( I have a bunch of Loadmaster videos on youtube). I got an idea tonight to make a home made vibraprime out of a Lee Auto Prime and a vibrator. It worked! Here is a video to show how to make one yourself. I show it in use at the end of the video. I’m sure it is not as good as a real vibraprime, but for some reason they stopped making them.

Here is the link

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gP0zqX8DAXQ

This is also my first post here.

Chris

PS Shadowdog500 said in the video "I don't know if you have to shake the Vibra-Prime or not"

Depends on which brand of primers you are using. All primers come in square boxes so we don't have to use the box lid to get them in the tray, but if using primers that come face up in the box (Winchesters come to mind) then no .... they fall out ready to go. But if using primers that come out of the box facing sideways (Federals) then yes ... they need persuaded to all face the same way!

Nothing different than you would have to do when using pick up sticks, though.

Keep thinking, folks! Since the (square!) primer trays for the VP are still available, all we really need is a block that holds the tray and tube in alignment and provides a ( :devil: ) orfice for "something that vibrates".

What fun we can have.

Later,

Chuck

Keep thinking, folks! Since the (square!) primer trays for the VP are still available, all we really need is a block that holds the tray and tube in alignment and provides a ( :devil: ) orfice for "something that vibrates".

What fun we can have.

Later,

Chuck

Thanks!!!,

I didnt know you could still get parts for it. Monkeying with the small round Lee tray is a limitation, but it is all I had laying around.