Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Visualization/air gunning

badchad

At my local match local match I visualize and air gun my stages quite a bit. More than any other shooter from what I can tell. I generally walk up to a stage, put my card on the clip board, and start the visualization process, with a lot of air gunning of the targets from behind the line. I generally keep going over the coarse mentally until I’m ready to fire. Nobody there does it as much as I do, and I feel I have progressed fast enough to be happy, and thought this was probably a big reason why (though maybe it’s my regular dry fire practice, reading all the recommended books and watching all the videos).

However, I recently I started shooting at Rio Salado’s Tuesday Night Steel, where I could see Rob Leatham shoot, and I just saw Matt Burkett shoot as well. From what it looks like, I’m visualizing and air gunning the stages a lot more than the pros are too (I admit I can’t see what they are thinking, and the stages have been fairly simple, but they seem to be socializing more), so I wonder if I’m doing it past the point where it helps, and if there is a point where too much might hinder.

So how much is enough and how much is too much? I imagine this is one of those individual things, so how would you determine is enough for you? Also any differences for air gunning a stage vs. pure mental rehearsal?

Keep in mind that the big boys have likely seen just about all there is to see as far as target arrangement, presentation, etc. They won't need to spend as much time with the preparation as it is very likely familiar to them.

For a newer shooter, you're likely seeing new stuff at every match and as such, your comfort level is going to be a lot lower.

Do what works for you.