Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

627 8 Shot 38 Super Cyclinder

art mc

Art,

I have 60K+ on my 627s and they only show a light "peening" as do all well shot revos. The stainless guns are harder by nature of the extra nickel (5%) added to the original steel. This helps it to be harder as well as keep it from rusting. BTW, you cannot hardchrome stainless steel, however, this peening is "work hardening" the cylinder already.

You sould contact S&W with some good digital pix of this cylinder and request an RA so they can see this and possibly replace your cylinder if it is proven to be of an inferior hardness.

Anytime that I have worked with S&W they have been most gracious and work to resolve any troubles. 100% customer satisfaction with me since I started shooting revos in 1975

Art,

I have 60K+ on my 627s and they only show a light "peening" as do all well shot revos. The stainless guns are harder by nature of the extra nickel (5%) added to the original steel. This helps it to be harder as well as keep it from rusting. BTW, you cannot hardchrome stainless steel, however, this peening is "work hardening" the cylinder already.

You sould contact S&W with some good digital pix of this cylinder and request an RA so they can see this and possibly replace your cylinder if it is proven to be of an inferior hardness.

Anytime that I have worked with S&W they have been most gracious and work to resolve any troubles. 100% customer satisfaction with me since I started shooting revos in 1975

Art,

Bill, Bill, Bill........where do I start? :)